Half Baked: Chris Baker Leaving KSEV, Edd Hendee Coming Back

24 Jan

All I can say is it’s about time! Chris Baker is finally leaving Houston’s KSEV 700 AM radio station. I wrote a piece last year about how I was done listening to KSEV except for the morning show on occasion. Well it appears I was not the lone ranger in doing so.

I was tipped off to the idea Baker was leaving after I saw the piece about KSEV starting to get a lot of attention recently. Apparently people were searching for news about his departure. My initial thought was Baker did something to really upset the listeners of the station and people were, like me, just hoping he would leave.

My initial research didn’t turn up any news, until today. I came across a short, but definitely sweet, article noting the changes coming to the lineup of KSEV talkshow hosts. As my eyes ran over and my brain processed the words ” ” I couldn’t help but feel some satisfaction. Finally Baker and his arrogant, know it all, faux conservative attitude would be gone. It was like a belated Christmas present!

The line will turn out to have Edd Hendee in the mornings (great for the drive into work) and The Mack Show will move to the afternoons. Many people have missed Edd since he had to step down as a show host after the tragic death of his son. He did fill in work here and there and was, as far as I could tell, always welcomed back with open arms. I would imagine the news of his return again will be overwhelmingly positive. I hope it is not temporary though and he will remain on a more permanent basis.

As I have said before, I like Richard “Mack” Machowicz and his unique perspective on events. He brings a fresh set of eyes and a voice to the KSEV team. He did have an uphill battle against competing morning shows like Joe Pags (who is a great listen als0). While Mack has done a good job, there is always room to grow in a new field.

I would have enjoyed an Edd-Mack morning show immensely, a Dan-Mack afternoon show could very well work out better. Mack will get the chance to learn from a seasoned veteran in the talk radio industry. I have yet to see where learning from a mentor is a bad thing. I can see Mack growing quickly under Dan’s tutelage as.

So with some excitement and anticipation I give a and sincere thank you to Dan Patrick. While not everyone will like a host, I honestly believe the upcoming changes will improve the listener base at KSEV. I know it will win me back as a listener. Well played Mr. Patrick. Well played.

 

Source –
Baker leaving, Hendee returning at KSEV radio – Chron.com

3 Responses to “Half Baked: Chris Baker Leaving KSEV, Edd Hendee Coming Back”

  1. Kelly February 19, 2013 at 10:24 am #

    Chris Baker was great and I for one, will NOT be listening anymore!

    • Chris February 19, 2013 at 10:49 am #

      Looks like Mr. Faker…er Baker has landed in the bustling metropolis of Omaha, Nebraska.
      According to his bio page it “Always liked it here; it always felt right.”
      http://www.kfab.com/pages/ChrisBaker.html

      Well Mr. Baker, so glad it feels better there than Houston. Always the butt kisser huh?

      Feel free to burn bandwidth listen to him online there. Glad to be rid of the little troll.

  2. Mark Tweedy February 12, 2014 at 5:45 pm #

    Great to have Chris here in Omaha. Great funny show! spot on opinion. Our gain for sure. Thanks for sending him up to the Majors.

Leave a Reply

